Juneau Community Foundation Announces: 2021 Individual Artist Awards

Juneau Community Foundation Announces
2021 Individual Artist Awards


Press Release                                                                                                                            May 4, 2021

Contact: Jamie Waste, Program Director

[email protected]/523-5450

The Juneau Community Foundation is pleased to announce $9,500 in awards to the successful applicants of this round of the 2021 Individual Artist Awards: Lily Hope, Erin Heist, Frank Katasse, and Annie Bartholomew.

Juneau has long supported, created, and maintained a high degree of artistic diversity, ingenuity, and expression. With this in mind, in 2020, the Foundation launched a new hometown grant program for artists, the Individual Artist Awards and is building an Arts Vibrancy Endowment to sustain accessible arts opportunities for the community for generations to come. All art forms and idioms including, but not limited to, visual arts, dance, music, fabric arts, photography, theater, and literary arts are eligible for these awards.

Each of the following awardees met the goal of the Individual Artist Award – to provide funds to assist with a specific, short-term project that has clear benefits to the artist and the development of their work.

Lily Hope’s “Illuminative Vibrancy of Naaxein and Yeil Koowu Textiles” receives a $2,500 award.

Lily Hope will weave a model size robe of two Northwest Coast Textiles: one Naaxein and one Yeil Koowu, while documenting the visual distinctions, intensive processes, with comparisons and parallels for international sharing. She will present virtually for various national and international weaving guilds, museums, schools, and foundations, while also sharing on YouTube, Facebook and Instagram to promote these vibrant and living fine art forms of the Northwest Coast.

Erin Heist’s “Rusted Dreams” receives a $2,500 award.

Rusted Dreams will be the first full-length album project of folk and bluegrass musician Erin Heist. Heist grew up in Southeast Alaska and her original songs use traditional American roots music styles to reflect on life in the Inside Passage. Heist is a long-time Juneau-based folk music performer and organizer, with groups such as Erin & Andrew Heist, The North Country Cajun Club, Sugar Shack, and Slacktide Backsliders.

Frank Katasse’s – “Once Upon A Tide” receives a $2,500 award.

In Once Upon a Tide by Frank Henry Kaash Katasse, three Tlingit siblings return home to attend the services of their father. As they are of the opposite moiety, they must guard the body the night before it is buried to protect it from evil spirits and usher it safely to the afterlife. The three sit on the dock in front of the rec center where the body of their father is being held until morning, reflecting on his complicated past and wondering what his passing means for the future of their family.

Annie Bartholomew’s “Sisters of White Chapel: Live Video Recordings” receives a $2,000 award.

Juneau songwriter Annie Bartholomew will collaborate with a team of filmmakers during the 2022 Alaska Folk Festival to document her original music inspired by narratives of women during the Klondike Gold Rush. These live performance videos will feature group ensembles and help tell the story of her historic songwriting project, Sisters of White Chapel. The videos will accompany the project’s album release which is slated for summer 2022.

Fostering our dynamic arts culture is a Foundation priority and goal that is being pursued through development of the Arts Vibrancy Endowment. The Foundation offers two opportunities yearly, spring and fall, for artists to apply for this award program that provides up to $2,500 per award. Awards are limited to Juneau residents.

2020 award winners include: Crystal Cudworth (multi-media), MK MacNaugton (multi-media), Christina Apathy (theater/spoken word), and Ben Huff (photography). Each received $2,500 in support of their respective projects.

Thank you to our generous donors for making the 2021 Individual Artist Awards possible. To learn more, visit www.juneaucf.org.